Tinder fungus beta-glucans typical of mushrooms – Adaptogens from mushrooms and plants

Adaptogene – What's this?

Adaptogens are components of certain plants and fungi, which influence the body's resistance to external and internal stress triggers. They support the organism in this, to adapt to physical and mental demands as well as loads, d. h. to adapt.

The term adaptogen was coined 1947 by the Russian scientist Nikolai Wassiljewitsch Lasarew. Research on adaptogens was really intensified in the 1960s . In particular, the pharmacologist Israil Izkowitsch Brechman was researching adaptogenic plants at the time.

Although things have apparently calmed down a bit in the meantime, adaptogenic fungi and plants have become a thing of the past, Research on this is now really picking up speed again. Reason enough for us, talk to a specialist about mushrooms and plants.

Jürgen Guthmann is the author of several books on mushrooms and plants. In particular, the book “Heilende Pilze” is regarded as the standard work on mushrooms and their health-relevant ingredients.

ZNG: Hello Mr. Guthmann, we're pleased, that you will find time to answer our questions. The first question. You have dealt with both plants and mushrooms in your books. Are these two realms comparable with each other?, or are there big differences?

J.Guthmann: First of all it has to be said, that the mushrooms form their own kingdom. So they are not related to plants or animals, but an independent way of life. The realm of mushrooms is also incredibly diverse and complex. The most important differences between fungi and plants can be found in the metabolism alone. Mushrooms therefore build up very special ingredients, such as. the mushroom-typical beta-glucans, as building materials of their cell membranes.

ZNG: What is meant by beta-glucans typical of mushrooms?. Plants also produce beta-glucan. In principle, that's the dietary fiber, or?

J.Guthmann: And, Both the mushroom-typical beta-glucans and the beta-glucans of the plants are among the dietary fibers. Or nutritionally also called prebiotics. Nevertheless, there are important differences, which mainly. derive from the chemical structure. Knot mushrooms 1,3/1,6 Beta-glucans that are likely to form helical structures. These helical structures are recognized by immunocompetent receptors. Plants do not make these beta-glucans, but form 1,4-linked beta-glucan polysaccharides.

ZNG: Ok, and on recognizing the helicals, The effects they trigger are based on typical mushroom beta-glucans, correct?

J.Guthmann: there are indications for this. However, much is still unclear here. The beta-glucans typical of mushrooms are also counted among the adaptogens. Adaptogens are ingredients from fungi and plants that can support organisms, to "adapt" to changes, so adapt.

ZNG: Biological response modifiers are also used in some studies with regard to beta-glucans that are typical for mushrooms (BMR) spoken.

J.Guthmann: Adaptogenic ingredients modify the biological response to stressors. Adaptogens are thus also directly biological response modifiers.

Thank you very much for your time and your interesting insights.

Jürgen Guthmann

Author of several books on mushrooms and plants

Jürgen Guthmann is a qualified chemical engineer and worked for a long time as a laboratory engineer. He is mainly concerned with nutrition- and health topics and he was particularly interested in medicinal mushrooms and medicinal plants as well as their effects and areas of use. Jürgen Guthmanns is the author of several books on plants and mushrooms. Especially his latest work "Healing Mushrooms - The Most Important Species of the World" in the current one, revised 2. Edition of 2020 is considered a trend-setting standard work on. the use of mushrooms.

Zunderschwamm pilztypische Beta-Glucane – Adaptogene aus Pilzen und Pflanzen

Adaptogene – Was ist das?

Adaptogene sind Inhaltsstoffe bestimmter Pflanzen und Pilze, welche die Widerstandsfähigkeit des Körpers gegenüber äußeren und inneren Stressauslösern beeinflussen. Sie unterstützen den Organismus dabei, sich an körperliche und geistige Anforderungen sowie Belastungen zu adaptieren, d. h. sich anzupassen.

Geprägt wurde der Begriff Adaptogen 1947 von dem russischen Wissenschaftler Nikolai Wassiljewitsch Lasarew. Richtig intensiviert wurde die Forschung zu Adaptogenen in den 1960er Jahren . Insbesondere der Pharmakologe Israil Izkowitsch Brechman forschte zu der Zeit an adaptogenen Pflanzen.

Obgleich es zwischenzeitlich scheinbar etwas ruhiger wurde um adaptogene Pilze und Pflanzen, nimmt die Forschung daran mittlerweile wieder richtig an Fahrt auf. Grund genug für uns, uns mit einem Fachmann zu Pilzen und Pflanzen zu unterhalten.

Jürgen Guthmann ist Autor mehrerer Bücher zu Pilzen und Pflanzen. Insbesondere das Buch „Heilende Pilze“ gilt als Standardwerk für Pilze und deren gesundheitsrelevante Inhaltsstoffe.

ZNG: Hallo Herr Guthmann, freut uns, dass Sie Zeit finden uns Rede und Antwort zu stehen. Gleich die erste Frage. Sie haben sich in Ihren Büchern sowohl mit Pflanzen als auch mit Pilzen beschäftigt. Sind diese beiden Reiche miteinander vergleichbar, oder gibt es große Unterschiede?

J.Guthmann: Zunächst einmal muss gesagt werden, dass die Pilze ihr eigenes Reich bilden. Sie sind also nicht verwandt mit Pflanzen oder Tieren, sondern eine eigenständige Lebensform. Das Reich der Pilze ist zudem unheimlich vielfältig und vielschichtig. Die wichtigsten Unterschiede zwischen Pilzen und Pflanzen sind allein schon im Stoffwechsel zu finden. Pilze bauen daher ganz besondere Inhaltsstoffe auf, wie bspw. die pilztypischen Beta-Glucane, als Baustoffe ihrer Zellmembranen.

ZNG: Was ist unter pilztypischen Beta-Glucanen zu verstehen. Pflanzen bilden doch auch Beta-Glucan. Im Prinzip sind das die Ballaststoffe, oder?

J.Guthmann: Ja, sowohl die pilztypischen Beta-Glucane als auch die Beta-Glucane der Pflanzen zählen zu den Ballaststoffen. Oder ernährungsphysiologisch auch Prebiotika genannt. Nichts desto trotz gibt es wichtige Unterschiede, die sich v.a. aus der chemischen Struktur ableiten. Pilze knüpfen 1,3/1,6 Beta-Glucane die wahrscheinlich helicale Strukturen ausbilden. Diese helicalen Strukturen werden von immunkompetenten Rezeptoren erkannt. Pflanzen bilden diese Beta-Glucane nicht, sondern bilden 1,4-verknüpfte Beta-Glucan Polysaccharide.

ZNG: Ok, und auf dem Erkennen der helicalen, pilztypischen Beta-Glucane beruhen die Effekte die sie auslösen, richtig?

J.Guthmann: es gibt Hinweise dafür. Allerdings ist hierbei noch vieles ungeklärt. Die pilztypischen Beta-Glucane werden auch zu den Adaptogenen gezählt. Adaptogene sind Inhaltsstoffe aus Pilzen und Pflanzen die Organismen unterstützen können, sich an Veränderungen zu „adaptieren“, also anzupassen.

ZNG: in machen Studien wird in Bezug auf pilztypische Beta-Glucane auch von Biological Response Modifiern (BMR) gesprochen.

J.Guthmann: Adaptogene Inhaltstoffe modifizieren die biologische Antwort auf Stressoren. Damit sind Adaptogene auch unmittelbar Biological Response Modifier.

Herzlichen Dank für Ihre Zeit und Ihre interessanten Einblicke.

Jürgen Guthmann

Autor mehrer Fachbücher zu Pilzen und Pflanzen

Jürgen Guthmann ist diplomierter Chemieingenieur und arbeitete lange Zeit als Laboringenieur. Er beschäftigt sich vor allem mit Ernährungs- und Gesundheitsthemen und hierbei hegte er besonderes Interesse für Vitalpilze und Heilpflanzen sowie deren Wirkungen und Verwendungsbereiche. Jürgen Guthmanns ist Autor mehrerer Bücher zu Pflanzen und Pilzen. Ganz besonders sein neuestes Werk „Heilende Pilze – Die wichtigsten Arten der Welt“ in der aktuellen, überarbeiteten 2. Auflage von 2020 gilt als richtungsweisendes Standardwerk bzgl. der Verwendung von Pilzen.